Education

Learning in the digital world

School has changed since most Digital Parents were in the classroom. These days, blackboards and chalk have been replaced by interactive whiteboards and iPads. Where there might have been one computer in the library 25 years ago, today’s digital children have access to rooms full of digital technology from laptops to recording studios.

These huge leaps forward in technology and its use in schools around the world, including Qatar, have affected the way that traditional subjects are taught, and introduced completely new ones to the curriculum.

For example:

- Geography students can use Google Earth to ‘travel’ virtually to every corner of the globe

- Primary school children can play fun games online to develop their numeracy skills

- History students can access articles and journals through the Qatar National Library (QNL) database (free registration required)

- Performing arts students can access music recording studios and video editing suites

The latest smartphones and tablets can record and edit music and video, take photographs, and draw and paint digital images. Whether it’s at school or at home, digital technology has opened up a world of new opportunities for young people to express their creativity.

Digital technology and education

There are three main areas of learning that Digital Parents should be aware of when finding out about the way that the internet and digital technology have had an impact on their children’s education.

ICT skills

As digital technology has expanded into every area of modern life, the need for our children to understand and be able to use it has never been more important. Teaching ICT skills in Qatar’s schools has become a core part of the curriculum to ensure that present and future generations of Qatar’s young people are ready to work in the digital world.

Learning through technology

As well as learning how to use digital technology itself, our children are increasingly using it as a tool to learn in other areas too. Whether at school or at home, internet-enabled technology and the web are now at the heart of education for children and young people. Visit our expert advice section where you can read about just one way in which digital technology is being used as an educational tool.

Accessing information

Finally, the internet has opened up a world of information. In just seconds our digital children can access facts and figures about almost any subject. It is so much easier to use a search engine like Google or Yahoo than to go to a library and find a book.

However, there is a problem with this approach to fact-finding; not everything on the web is reliable! Anybody can publish on the internet, and as a result there can be a lot of inaccurate, outdated and even deliberately misleading information. Visit the ‘internet safety’ page on the Vodafone AmanTECH website and scroll down for a Digital Parents’ guide to the importance of making sure that the information your children are accessing is trustworthy.

Working in the online world

Many parents came to digital technology much later in life than our children have. Where today’s children start to use laptops and tablets early on in school and at home, previous generations may have spent most or all of their school years and working lives never using a computer for anything more technical than writing an email or typing a letter.

In today’s Digital World, it is difficult to think of careers which do not include at least some element of digital technology. From education to engineering, medicine to marketing, most jobs require at least a basic level of skill with computers and other internet-enabled technology. Some jobs require much more than that, and in this section we will look at just a few of the careers which digital-savvy  young people might consider.

Software engineering

Software engineers are responsible for designing, building and testing the computer programmes which are central to business, education, medicine, engineering, leisure and much more. Whether building complex databases storing vast amount of information, or software to control intricate manufacturing processes, software engineers play a vital role in the modern, digital world.

Data science

In the digital world, the internet allows organisations around the world to store and share an unimaginably large amount of information. This ranges from data collected from the International Space Station and the ground-breaking https://home.cern/topics/large-hadron-collider at CERN in Switzerland, to information about the spending habits of 45-55 year olds in Azerbaijan and literacy levels among primary school children in rural Australia.

It is the role of a data scientist to work through these vast arrays of data, collecting what they require for a particular purpose, and to analyse it to produce the information they need. Data scientists work across hundreds of different fields, from medical and scientific research to city planning and financial forecasting by governments and banks. As the volume of digital data increases, the role of the data scientists becomes more and more important.

Graphical information systems (GIS)

While “graphical information systems” sounds impressive, and it is, the reality is that anyone who has ordered an Uber, searched on Google Maps or looked at the flight map while sitting on an aeroplane has made use of GIS without realising it.

The role of a GIS technician is to create layers of geographical information which can displayed over detailed, 3-dimensional maps of the Earth. The maps rely on GPS data, and the information can be used in many different ways, including:

-          Displaying road layouts for navigation, i.e. Google Maps

-          Presenting information about oil and gas fields to help oil companies plan their well-drilling activities

-          Mapping information like poverty levels, crime rates and health statistics across a country to spot patterns which might help a government to allocate resources in the best way possible

Information security

In the digital world, companies and organisations from social networks to hospitals, banks and government ministries hold huge amounts of detailed information about individuals around the world. This information is personal, private and incredibly valuable, and much of it is stored on computers around the world which are connected via – you guessed it – the internet.

As in all areas of life, there are people who my want to steal it – from individual hackers to foreign governments – and the job of and information security officer is to prevent this from happening.

Web development

Web developers are computer programmers who work specifically on applications which run over the World Wide Web. The easiest way to sum it up is that web developers create everything that you can view through your internet browser on your smartphone, tablet or laptop. This could be a simple, single page advertising a company selling soap, to the online banking facilities of a powerful, international financial organisation.

Have you applied for a passport online? A web developer designed that system… Ordered a pizza on the internet? You have a web developer to thank for that too! What’s more, as the digital world moves towards “cloud computing” applications like Microsoft Office 365, the role of web developer will become more complex and even more vital to the billions of internet users.

التعليـم


التعلـم من خلال الإنترنت

نستطيع أن نلاحظ التغيير الجذري الذي طرأ على آليات التعليم عند مقارنة الماضي بالحاضر، فلقد أصبحت آليات التعليم المعاصرة مختلفة كلياً عن تلك التي كانت مستخدمة في فصول الآباء حتى من المتمرسين في عالم  التكنولوجيا. فتم اليوم استبدال اللوح والطباشير بالألواح التفاعلية وأجهزة الـiPad. بينما قبل 25 عاماً من الآن، كان من النادر وجود جهاز كمبيوتر واحد في مكتبة المدرسة! اليوم أصبح لدى أطفالنا أجهزة وتقنيات حديثة ابتداء بأجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة (Laptop) وانتهاءً باستوديوهات التسجيل المتطورة.

تلك القفزة الهائلة في عالم التكنولوجيا واستخدامها في كثير من المدارس حول العالم، من ضمنها مدارس قطر، أثرت على آلية تدريس الموضوعات الاعتيادية، وبالطبع، وفّرت أساليب جديدة و بفعالية أكبر لتدريس المناهج.

أمثلة:

- أصبح بإمكان الطلاب استخدام برنامج Google Earth للسفر "افتراضياً" إلى أي زاوية حول العالم

- تستطيع مدارس التعليم الأساسي الاعتماد على الألعاب الترفيهية عبر الانترنت لتطوير مهارات الطلاب في العد والتعامل مع الأرقام.

- طلاب مادة التاريخ أيضاً أصبح بإمكانهم الوصول للمقالات والتقارير المتعلقة من خلال قاعدة البيانات في مكتبة قطر الوطنية (QNL) (التسجيل مطلوب مجاناً)

- كما يستطيع طلاب الفنون استخدام ستوديوهات تسجيل الموسيقى وبرامج تحرير الفيديو

توفر الهواتف الذكية والأجهزة اللوحية (تابلت) الحديثة ميزة تسجيل وتحرير مقاطع الموسيقى والفيديو وكذلك الصور، يمكنك التقاط الصور ووضع لمستك ورسوماتك عليها. وسواء في المنزل أو المدرسة، فإن التكنولوجيا الرقمية تقدم عالماً من الفرص للشباب وصغار السن لعرض مواهبهم الإبداعية.

التكنولوجيا الرقمية والتعليـم

هناك ثلاثة مجالات رئيسية للتعلم والذي يجب على الآباء الانتباه لها والتعرف على تأثير وسائل التعليم والتكنولوجيا فيها على نمو أطفالهم العلمي.

مهارات التعامل مع تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات

ولأن التكنولوجيا الرقمية اليوم امتدت لتتداخل مع كل جانب من جوانب حياتنا العملية، فإن أهمية أن يفهم أطفالنا كيفية التعامل معها تزايدت بشكل أكبر. إن تدريس مهارات التعامل مع تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات في مدارس قطر أصبح الجزء الأهم في المنهاج لضمان اعداد جيل صاعد مستعد للتعامل مع تحديات العالم الجديد والمتمثل بالأساس في العالم الرقمي.

التعلم من خلال وسائل التكنولوجيا

جنباً إلى جنب مع تدريس آليات التعامل مع وسائل التكنولوجيا الرقمية بحد ذاتها، فإن أطفالنا يقومون أيضاً باستخدام تلك الوسائل للتعلم في جوانب ومجالات أخرى. وسواء في المنزل أو المدرسة فإن الأجهزة المزوّدة بخاصية الاتصال بالإنترنت تعتبر الآن القلب النابض لمسيرة التعليم بالنسبة للأطفال وصغار السن. قم بزيارة قسم "نصيحة الخبراء" حيث يمكنك قراءة الكثير حول إحدى الطرق لاستخدام التكنولوجيا الرقمية كوسيلة تعليمية.

حالياً، أصبح لدينا كم هائل من المعلومات بفضل عالم الإنترنت. ففي ثوان معدودة، يستطيع أطفالنا الوصول للكثير من المعلومات والحقائق والأشكال الإيضاحية المتعلقة بكل المواضيع تقريباً. أصبح من السهل للغاية الحصول على المعلومات بالبحث بواسطة محركات البحث الشهيرة مثل Google أو Yahoo بدلا من الذهاب إلى المكتبة والبحث في الكتب.

ومع ذلك، فهناك الجانب السلبي من هذه النظرية الأقرب للحقيقة، وهو أنه ليس كل ما هو موجود على الانترنت موثوق به ويمكن الاعتماد عليه! فأي شخص بإمكانه الدخول على الانترنت ونشر ما يريد، ونتيجة لذلك، ستجد الكثير من المعلومات غير الدقيقة والقديمة وغير الحيادية بالطبع. قم بزيارة صفحة "السلامة على الانترنت" في موقع "فودافون AmanTECH" ثم توجه لأسفل الصفحة إلى دليل  التربية الرقمية وتحديداً للقسم الذي يتحدث عن أهمية التأكد من مصادر المعلومات التي يتطلع عليها أطفالك.

العمل في عالم الانترنت

جاء الكثير من الآباء إلى التكنولوجيا الرقمية في وقت لاحق بكثير من أطفالنا. يبدأ أطفال اليوم في استخدام أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة والأجهزة اللوحية في وقت مبكر في المدرسة والمنزل ، ربما تكون الأجيال السابقة قد أمضت معظم سنوات دراستهم أو حياتها العملية أو كلها ،دون استخدام جهاز الكمبيوتر لأي شيء أكثر تقنية من كتابة بريد إلكتروني أو كتابة خطاب.

في العالم الرقمي اليوم ، من الصعب التفكير في الوظائف التي لا تتضمن على الأقل بعض عناصر التقنية الرقمية. من التعليم إلى الهندسة ، والطب إلى التسويق ، تتطلب معظم الوظائف على الأقل مستوى أساسي من المهارة مع أجهزة الكمبيوتر وغيرها من التكنولوجيا التي تدعم الإنترنت. تتطلب بعض الوظائف أكثر من ذلك بكثير ، وفي هذا القسم سننظر إلى عدد قليل من الوظائف التي قد يدرسها الشباب من ذوي الخبرة الرقمية.

هندسة البرمجيات

مهندسي البرمجيات مسؤولون عن تصميم وبناء واختبار برامج الكمبيوتر التي تعتبر مركزية للأعمال التجارية والتعليم والطب والهندسة والترفيه وأكثر من ذلك بكثير. سواء كان الأمر يتعلق ببناء قواعد بيانات معقدة لتخزين كميات هائلة من المعلومات ، أو برامج للتحكم في عمليات التصنيع المعقدة ، يلعب مهندسي البرمجيات دوراً مهم في العالم الرقمي الحديث.

علم البيانات

في العالم الرقمي ، يتيح الإنترنت للمؤسسات في جميع أنحاء العالم تخزين كمية كبيرة من المعلومات ومشاركتها بشكل لا يمكن تصوره. وتتراوح هذه البيانات من البيانات التي تم جمعها من محطة الفضاء الدولية ومصادم هادرون الكبير الرائد في CERN في سويسرا ، إلى معلومات حول عادات الإنفاق لأعمار تتراوح بين 45-55 سنة في أذربيجان ومستويات القراءة والكتابة بين أطفال المدارس الابتدائية في المناطق الريفية في أستراليا.

إن دور عالم البيانات هو العمل من خلال هذه المصفوفات الضخمة من البيانات ، وجمع ما يحتاجه لغرض معين ، وتحليله لإنتاج المعلومات التي يحتاجونها. ويعمل علماء البيانات في مئات المجالات المختلفة ، من الأبحاث الطبية والعلمية إلى تخطيط المدن والتنبؤ المالي من جانب الحكومات والبنوك. مع زيادة حجم البيانات الرقمية ، يصبح دور علماء البيانات أكثر وأكثر أهمية.

نظم المعلومات الرسومية (GIS)

في حين أن "أنظمة المعلومات الرسومية" تبدو مثيرة للإعجاب ، والحقيقة هي أن أي شخص قد طلب أوبر ، أو البحث على خرائط جوجل  أو نظر إلى خريطة الرحلة أثناء الجلوس على متن الطائرة ، استخدم نظام GIS دون أن يدرك ذلك.

يتمثل دور فني GIS في إنشاء طبقات من المعلومات الجغرافية التي يمكن عرضها على خرائط مفصلة ثلاثية الأبعاد للأرض. تعتمد الخرائط على بيانات GPS ، ويمكن استخدام المعلومات بالعديد من الطرق المختلفة ، بما في ذلك:

- عرض تخطيطات الطريق للملاحة ، على سبيل المثال خرائط جوجل

- تقديم معلومات عن حقول النفط والغاز لمساعدة شركات النفط في التخطيط لأنشطتها في حفر الآبار

- معلومات رسم الخرائط مثل مستويات الفقر ومعدلات الجريمة والإحصاءات الصحية في جميع أنحاء البلاد لتحديد الأنماط التي قد تساعد الحكومة على تخصيص الموارد بأفضل طريقة ممكنة.

أمن المعلومات

في العالم الرقمي ، تحتفظ الشركات والمؤسسات من الشبكات الاجتماعية إلى المستشفيات والبنوك والوزارات الحكومية بكميات هائلة من المعلومات التفصيلية عن الأفراد في جميع أنحاء العالم. هذه المعلومات شخصية ، خاصة ، وذات قيمة كبيرة ، ويتم تخزين الكثير منها على أجهزة الكمبيوتر في جميع أنحاء العالم والتي ترتبط عبر الإنترنت.

كما هو الحال في جميع مجالات الحياة ، هناك أشخاص يريدون سرقتها - من المتسللين الفرديين إلى الحكومات الأجنبية - ومهمة ضابط أمن المعلومات هو منع هذا من الحدوث.

تطوير الشبكة

مطورون الويب هم مبرمجين كمبيوتر يعملون تحديدًا على التطبيقات التي تعمل عبر شبكة الويب العالمية. أسهل طريقة لتلخيص ذلك هو أن مطوري الويب يقومون بإنشاء كل شيء يمكنك عرضه من خلال متصفح الإنترنت الخاص بك على الهاتف الذكي أو الجهاز اللوحي أو الكمبيوتر المحمول. قد يكون هذا مجرد صفحة واحدة ، تعلن عن شركة تبيع الصابون ، إلى التسهيلات المصرفية عبر الإنترنت لمنظمة مالية دولية قوية.

هل تقدمت بطلب للحصول على جواز سفر عبر الإنترنت؟ صمم مطور ويب هذا النظام ... طلبت البيتزا على الإنترنت؟ لديك مطور على شبكة الإنترنت لتقديم الشكر لذلك أيضا! والأكثر من ذلك ، مع تحرك العالم الرقمي نحو تطبيقات "الحوسبة السحابية" مثل Microsoft Office 365 ، سيصبح دور مطور الويب أكثر تعقيدًا وأكثر حيوية لمليارات مستخدمي الإنترنت.