Your wider digital family

Working across the generations to keep children safe online

The importance of the role of the wider family in ensuring the safety of children in the digital world cannot be overstated. Despite the growth of the internet as a way to spend time and socialise, aunts, uncles, cousins and grandparents are still the people with whom our young children and teenagers are spending much of their time.

Friendships at a distance

It is becoming more common for families from Qatar to spend time living overseas. Whether it is parents and their families moving for work reasons, or children and young people going to school or university, our digital children often have friends and relatives with whom they can only keep in touch by telephone or over the internet.

This is one of the great advantages of the digital world; it gives our families the opportunity to maintain friendships over long distances. By using social networks like Instagram or WhatsApp, or making video calls using Facetime or Skype, the important relationships that our children have with their cousins and other relatives are able to continue.

Different places, same rules

Wherever our children are, it is important that Digital Parents can be confident that their families remain safe online. Whether children are at a cousin’s house or at home with an older sibling, the guidelines that are in place need to be maintained as much as possible.

It’s not just relatives, but other members of the household too; the increase in numbers of nannies in Qatar means that they must play a part in supervising children’s access to and use of the internet.

If your child attends a nursery where iPads and other internet-enabled devices are available for the children to use, ask the staff what digital safety measures they have in place and how they make sure that the guidelines are being followed.

 

Communication is key…

The most important action that Digital Parents must take is to tell the other adults and older siblings who may be in charge of your children exactly what guidelines and restrictions you have in place. This is a good reason to try to stick to a small number of clear rules, rather than a long list which changes from day to day.

For example, you might focus on:

- How long your child is allowed to spend using internet-enabled devices each day

- Which websites, apps and social networks they are allowed to use

- What happens if your children break the rules; does their smartphone get taken away or games console get turned off?

- Why your children might need to be online for longer than normal; perhaps they have homework to do or it is their only chance that week to speak to a particular friend who lives some distance away

It may also be that Digital Parents are in charge of their nieces and nephews. The same principles apply, and it may be useful to talk with other family members to see if it is possible to have some of the same rules and limits in place across your wider family. The security of children in the digital world is important, and anything which makes it easier to keep them safe is worth considering.

أسرتك الرقمية الممتـدة

العمـل عبر الأجيال لحماية الأطفال في عالم الانترنت

إن أهمية دور الأسرة الكبير في ضمان حماية الأطفال في عالم الانترنت ليس له حدود. فبالرغم من تزايد استخدام الانترنت كوسيلة لقضاء الوقت والتواصل مع الأًصدقاء، فإن أطفالنا لازالوا يقضون جزءاً من وقتهم  مع عائلتهم وأقربائهم كالجديّن والأعمام وأولاد العم.

صداقـات عن بـُعد

أصبح من الشائع بين العائلات في قطر أن يسافر أفرادها لمسافات بعيدة لأغراض مختلفة، فقد تسافر الأسرة لبلد آخر لأسباب تتعلق بالعمل أو قد يضطر الأطفال والشباب لذلك بهدف الدراسة في مدرسة أو جامعة ما، ويملك أطفالنا غالباً أصدقاءً وأقرباء يتواصلون معهم من خلال الهاتف أو عبر الانترنت مهما بعدت المسافات.

وتعد هذه أحد أفضل الميزات التي يقدمها لنا عالم الانترنت، حيث يستطيع أفراد الأسرة البقاء على تواصلهم مع أصدقائهم بغض النظر عن المسافة التي تفصلهم. وسواء باستخدام الشبكات الاجتماعية مثل Instgram أو WhatsApp أو باستعمال برامج مكالمات الفيديو مثل Facetime أو Skype، سيتمكن أطفالنا من المحافظة على استمرار علاقتهم بأصدقائهم وأقربائهم.

 

أماكن مختلفة، و لكن القوانين نفسها ثابتة

بغض النظر عن مكان تواجد أطفالك، فإنه من الضروري أن يكون الآباء مطمئنين ببقاء أطفالهم آمنين عند استخدام الانترنت. فلا يهم إذا ما كان الأطفال في منزل أقربائهم أو في المنزل مع شقيقهم الأكبر، فالإرشادات والقوانين المتعلقة بالأمان عند استخدام الانترنت يجب أن يتم اتباعها في كل مكان وقدر الإمكان.  

الأمر لا يقتصر على الأقارب، فهناك أفراد آخرون يقيمون في المنزل يمكنهم القيام بدورهم أيضاً، فالعدد المتزايد للمربيات في المنازل في قطر يحتم عليهنّ أداء دورهنّ في الإشراف على دخول واستخدام الأطفال للإنترنت.

إذا كان طفلك يداوم في حضانة أو مدرسة توفر أجهزة iPad أو أجهزة توفر خدمة الانترنت ليستخدمها الأطفال، فاستفسر من الموظفين هناك عن معايير السلامة الرقمية التي يتم تطبيقها، وكذلك الآلية المتبعة للتأكد من تطبيقهم تلك المعايير.

 

التواصـل كإحدى الطـرق...

إن أهم خطوة يقوم بها الآباء هي توضيح القيود والارشادات التي تم التوصل اليها مع الأطفال بدقة لأشقائهم الأكبر سناً أو من قد يكونون مسؤولين عنهم في أوقات وأماكن مختلفة. لهذا الغرض، ستشعر أنه من الأفضل الالتزام بعدد محدود وواضح من القوانين والقيود بدلاً من لائحة طويلة قد تتغير من يوم لآخر.

 

مثال على ذلك، التركيـز على النقاط التالية:

- ما هي المدة المحددة يومياً للطفل لاستخدام الأجهزة المزودة بخاصية الاتصال بالإنترنت؟

- ما هي المواقع والتطبيقات والشبكات الاجتماعية المسموح له بزيارتها؟

- ما هي نتيجة مخالفة الطفل للقوانين المتفق عليها؟ مثلاً سحب الهاتف الذكي منه أو اغلاق جهاز الألعاب الخاص به

- لماذا قد يحتاج طفلك لاستخدام الانترنت لمدة أطول من المعتاد؟ قد يحتاج لذلك لأداء واجباته المدرسية أو لحاجته للتحدث مع أحد الأصدقاء المسافرين في ذلك اليوم بالذات.

وقد يكـون الآباء ممن يستخدمون الانترنت مسؤولون أيضاً عن أبناء أو بنات أقربائهم. حينها، يجب أن تُطبق نفس القوانين والمبادئ عليهم، وسيكون من المفيد التحدث مع الأقارب لمعرفة امكانية تطبيق نفس القوانين والقيود في فروع الأسرة. إن حماية الأطفال في عالم الانترنت أصبح أمراً ذا اهمية بالغة، لذا، فإن كل ما يمكنه المساعدة في ذلك يجب أن يؤخذ بعين الاعتبار.